President – Daniel Necz

Daniel is an LL.M. Candidate at Harvard Law School. Daniel holds a Law degree from Eötvös Loránd University and pursues his PhD studies at the Pázmány Péter Catholic University in Budapest, Hungary with a focus on privacy, data protection and the regulation of artificial intelligence and novel technologies. He has also published a variety of articles and held speeches in the above fields. Prior to Harvard, Daniel has worked at a number of top-tier international law firms as a privacy, data protection and technology law expert and is currently registered by the Budapest Bar Association in Hungary as a lawyer

Besides law, Daniel enjoys travelling and literature and is also interested in programming and information technology.

Vice-President – Jenny Liang

Shiyu (Jenny) Liang is a 3L from Shanghai, China. She graduated from the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in 2018 where she focused on EU-China and transatlantic relations. She has studied in Berlin and interned at the German Council on Foreign Relations. She has also interned at the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C. and the American Chamber of Commerce at Shanghai. At HLS, she was part of the Harvard WTO Moot Court Team, which won second place in the global grand final in 2019, and was the president of the Harvard European Law Association from 2019-2020. In her free time, Jenny enjoys yoga, wine-tasting, and figure-skating. 

Conference Chair – Maria Lucia Passador

Maria Lucia is an LL.M. Candidate at Harvard Law School, and she holds a Combined Bachelor and Master of Science in Law, as well as a Ph.D. in Business Law from Bocconi University in Milan. She was also a visiting researcher at the University of Oxford, at the Max Planck Institute in Hamburg, at Columbia Law School and at Harvard Law School, where she worked a research assistant and was a Fellow of the Program in Corporate Governance. Prior to joining HLS, she practiced as an attorney-at-law, mainly being involved in corporate law and securities regulation areas, and was an academic fellow at Bocconi University.

Maria Lucia is currently an Editorial Board Member of the Harvard Business Law Review, as well as the President of the Harvard Italian Law Association (HILA).  Maria Lucia loves to travel, but she is also passionate about music and art, literature and architecture, IT and sports.

Conference Vice-Chair – Helin Ackam

Academic Events Chair – Stefan Martinic

Stefan Martinić is an LL.M. Candidate at Harvard Law School. He finished a 5-year integrated BA-MA law school program at the University of Zagreb, Croatia, during which he went on an Erasmus+ exchange program at l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. He interned at the European Parliament in Brussels and in the Court of Justice of the EU in Luxembourg. He holds an LLM in European Law from LSE and an Artificial Intelligence Certificate from the  Oxford’s Saïd Business School. He has a one-year experience of working in a top-tier law firm in Croatia.

Stefan’s interests are travel, basketball, chess and politics.

Academic Events Chair – Defne Ornek

Defne is an LL.M. Candidate at Harvard Law School. She holds an LL.B. degree from Galatasaray University (Istanbul, Turkey), an economics degree from Anadolu University (Eskisehir, Turkey) and an LL.M. degree in Advanced Studies in European and International Business Law from Leiden Law School (Leiden, Netherlands).  During her legal studies, she interned in a number of top-tier law firms focusing on corporate law, commercial law, international arbitration, ITC contracts and IP law. She is a licensed attorney in Turkey and a member of Istanbul Bar since 2017. Prior to Harvard, she worked in an international organization as a Assistant Legal Advisor in Brussels, Belgium.

She loves exploring different countries and cultures. She enjoys learning different languages. She speaks Turkish, English, French, Spanish and Dutch.

Academic Events Chair – Ajay Sarma

Internal Communications Chair – Lukas Roth

Lukas Roth is a second-year JD student at Harvard Law School and is originally from Rheinland-Pfalz in Germany. He holds a BBA in Global Business from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and has worked five years as a management consultant in Singapore, working on projects all around the APAC region. Lukas is interested in corporate and international law. He has spent his summer interning at the Kirkland & Ellis Munich office.

External Communications Chair – Ayako Fujihara

Ayako Fujihara is a third-year JD student at Harvard Law School. Having been raised in Japan and Belgium, she developed a strong interest in international affairs and regional integration. She holds a BA in Philosophy, Politics and Economics and an MPhil in Economics from the University of Oxford. At the law school, she maintains a broad curiosity in areas of international law, with a particular interest in international economic law. In her 1L summer, she interned at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. During her time at HLS, she has also been involved in the International Law Journal, the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot and the Harvard International Arbitration Law Students Association.

Faculty Sponsor – David Kennedy

David Kennedy is Manley O. Hudson Professor of Law and Faculty Director of the Institute for Global Law and Policy at Harvard Law School where he teaches international law, international economic policy, legal theory, law and development and European law. He joined the Harvard Law faculty in 1981 and holds a Ph.D. from the Fletcher School at Tufts University and a J.D. from Harvard. He is the author of numerous articles on international law and global governance. His research uses interdisciplinary materials from sociology and social theory, economics and history to explore issues of global governance, development policy and the nature of professional expertise. He has been particularly committed to developing new voices from the third world and among women in international affairs.

Faculty Sponsor – Jose M. Martinez-Sierra

Jose M. Martinez-Sierra is Jean Monnet ad personam Professor for the Study of European Union Law and Government. Since 2012, he develops a number of teaching, research and administrative roles at Harvard College, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, the Harvard Kennedy School and the Harvard Law School. He is a Faculty Affiliate of the Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies and Faculty Associate of the David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies. He is an Advisory Council Faculty Member and EU Law Coordinator of the Institute for Global Law and Policy at Harvard Law School, co-chair of the Internationalization and Innovation in Higher Education Study Group, co-chair of the European Union Law and Government Study Group and co-chair of the Southern Europe in the EU Study Group at the Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies at Harvard. He is also the Faculty Sponsor of the Harvard European Law Association.