The Ames Competition is one of the most prestigious competitions for appellate brief writing and advocacy in the country. Students participating in the Final Round started the competition in the fall of their 2L year.  From there, two teams progress to the Final Round through their strong research abilities and excellent written and oral advocacy. The Final Round is traditionally judged by this country’s preeminent jurists. Past Ames Competition winners include Professor Cass Sunstein, Dean Kathleen Sullivan, Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick, and Justice Harry Blackmun. Click here for a list of past winners of the Competition.

2024 Final Round

Following the two Semi-Final Rounds on March 5-6, 2024, the following two teams will face off in the Final Round during the Fall 2024 semester. Stay tuned for further details in the Fall semester.

The Honorable Constance Baker Motley Memorial Team

  • Elle Buellesbach 
  • Vaishalee Chaudhary
  • Andrew Cogut 
  • Alex Fredman 
  • Sophia Kwende
  • Alexandra (“Mac”) Taylor

The Honorable Justice Sandra Day O’Connor Memorial Team

  • Arvind Ashok
  • Edward “Ned” Bless 
  • Andrew Hayes
  • Emily Malpass
  • Richard Nehrboss
  • Daniel Wasserman 


For more information, please email