Archive: 2017-2018

Harvard International Arbitration Law Students Association (HIALSA) is pleased to announce the International Arbitration Workshop (the Workshop) for the 2017-2018 academic year.

The Workshop builds upon Harvard Law School’s rich traditions in advocacy and international law to offer HLS students an in-depth introduction to the practice of international arbitration.  The Workshop will comprise nine individual sessions—beginning with the preliminary steps in a dispute and concluding with the recognition and enforcement of arbitral awards—drawing upon the diverse experiences of leading practitioners and arbitrators. The Workshop will supplement Harvard Law School’s course offerings in international investment and commercial arbitration, as well as lectures and seminars hosted by HIALSA.

Many Workshop sessions will feature suggested reading. HLS students who enroll in the Workshop and attend at least seven of the nine workshop sessions will be eligible for a certificate awarded by HIALSA. The Workshop will not be offered for a grade or course credit.

The Workshop is truly the first of its kind, offering to HLS students an extraordinary opportunity to develop and hone their practical skills in international arbitration.

The Workshop co-directors are Luke Sobota, Hugh Carlson, Hiroko Yamamoto, and Christian Vandergeest.

Please direct sponsorship inquiries to and media inquiries to

Workshop Schedule

# Date, time, and location Topic Confirmed Speaker(s)
1 September 22, 2017, 12pm-2pm in WCC Room 3019 Initial steps in a dispute: what comes before the briefs? Mr. Gene Silva (ExxonMobil) and Mr. Hugh Carlson (Three Crowns Washington D.C.)
2 October 6, 2017,
12pm-2pm in WCC Room 3019
Written submissions in international arbitration Mr. Kabir Duggal (Baker McKenzie New York)
3* November 7, 2017, 4pm-5:30pm in Milstein East C Hearings in international arbitration (Co-sponsored by Y-ADR, CPR’s young lawyers’ group) Ms. Suzana Blades (ConocoPhillips), Ms. Jean Kalicki (Kalicki Arbitration), Mr. Luke Sobota (Three Crowns Washington D.C.), and Moderator Mr. Charles “Chip” Rosenberg (White & Case)
4* November 7, 2017, 6pm-7:30m in Milstein East C Roundtable discussion: the international arbitrator’s perspective (Co-sponsored by Y-ADR, CPR’s young lawyers’ group) Judge Charles Brower (20 Essex Street, Judge ad hoc of the International Court of Justice, and Judge of the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal), Mr. Oscar Garibaldi (Garibaldi Arbitrator), Ms. Jean Kalicki (Kalicki Arbitration), Professor William “Rusty” Park (Boston University School of Law), and Moderator Mr. Hugh Carlson (Three Crowns Washington D.C.)
5 February 12, 2018, 12pm-2pm in Pound 101 Damages in international arbitration Professor Mark Kantor (Independent Arbitrator)
6 March 5, 2018, 12pm-1:30pm in WCC B015 Cross examination Ms. Elizabeth Devaney (Occidental Petroleum Corporation),  Mr. Luke Sobota (Three Crowns Washington D.C.), Mr. Pablo Lopez Zadicoff (Compass Lexecon), and Moderator  Ms. Sara McBrearty (King & Spalding Houston).
7* March 24, 2018 at 2:45pm-4pm in Ames Court Room
(Part of the Harvard International Arbitration Conference)
Knowing your audience: differences in written and oral advocacy across jurisdictions and fora (Supported by Young ICCA) Mr. Laurent Gouiffès (Hogan Lovells Paris), Mr. Alastair Henderson (Herbert Smith Freehills Singapore), Ms. Sophie Lamb QC (Latham & Watkins London), Ms. Claudia Salomon (Latham & Watkins New York), Mr. Claus von Wobeser (von Wobeser y Sierra Mexico), and Moderator Mr. Jonathan Lim (WilmerHale London)
8* March 24, 2018 at 9:50am-11:05am in Ames Court Room
(Part of the Harvard International Arbitration Conference)
Roundtable discussion: the in-house counsel’s perspective Ms. Elizabeth Devaney (Occidental Petroleum Corporation), Ms. Elisabeth Eljuri (Sierra Oil & Gas), Ms. Kelly Herrera (ConocoPhillips), Mr. Jose Martin (Chevron), and Moderator Mr. Hugh Carlson (Three Crowns Washington D.C.)
9 April 19, 2018 at 11:45am-1:45pm in WCC 1023 Recognition and enforcement of arbitral awards
Mr. Ari MacKinnon (Cleary New York), Ms. Caroline Richard (Freshfields Washington D.C.),  Professor Marike Paulsson (University of Miami School of Law), and Moderator Ms. Jennifer Huang (Skadden New York)

*Starred sessions are open to everyone, regardless of affiliation with Harvard Law. Non-starred sessions are automatically open to Harvard Law affiliates; as long as there is space, it is also open to non-Harvard Law affiliates.

Co-Director Profiles

Luke Sobota

Luke is a founding partner of Three Crowns and is active in investor-state, inter-state, and commercial arbitrations.  He previously worked in the Office of Legal Counsel at the U.S. Department of Justice, where he advised and prepared formal legal opinions for executive branch officials on a range of constitutional, international, and administrative law issues.  His monograph on General Principles of Law and International Due Process was recently published by Oxford University Press.  Luke teaches a course on investment disputes at American University and a course on the forensics of international arbitration at the University of Miami.  He earned his law  degree from the University of Chicago Law School, after which he clerked for the late Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court, William H. Rehnquist.

Hugh Carlson

Hugh Carlson is Director of Practice and a senior associate at Three Crowns LLP, a specialist firm in international arbitration, where he serves in a leadership role and practices international commercial and investment arbitration. He has represented clients under most major arbitral rules systems. His recent experience includes acting for ConocoPhillips in multiple ICSID and ICC arbitrations arising in part from the expropriation of the company’s hydrocarbon assets in Venezuela.

Prior to joining Three Crowns, Hugh practiced international arbitration in the Washington, D.C. office of a large international law firm, where he represented multinational corporations and sovereign States.

Hugh is an adjunct professor at Georgetown Law. He was selected as a “Rising Star” by Super Lawyers in 2016, 2017, and 2018, and is a member of the CPR Cybersecurity Task Force.


Session 1

Session 2

Session 3

Session 4

Session 5

Session 6

Session 7


Session 8

Session 9

Media Supporter