Welcome to Beeritas!

Do you love beer?  Like beer?  Like beer but want to learn to love it?  Love sitting around and watching other people drink beer?  If yes, welcome to Beeritas!  (If no, who are you?)

Beeritas is the official Beer Appreciation Society of Harvard Law School.  That’s right, if you were afraid your beer drinking days were over now that you are a big bad law student, we’re here for you.  We hold a tasting every other Monday — some curated by the current board, some led by representatives from local breweries.  Each tasting has a theme, and each of the 8 or so beers fit that theme in some way.  Past themes have included Oktoberfests and Fall Beers, East Coast vs. West Coast, Old World/New World, and Strange Beers. At each tasting, our Professor of Beer or the visiting brewer leads us through the various beers of the week.  You drink some beer, you learn just enough about beer to be pretentious at parties (but keep your snobbery away from Beeritas!), and you discuss nothing legal whatsoever- it’s the perfect mix!

In addition to our bi-weekly tastings, we also hold beer-themed events throughout the year that take advantage of our location in a great beer city, such as trips to local breweries and local beer festivals.

All in all, Beeritas is a place for people who care about beer, beer in all shapes, sizes and styles. Graduate students from other schools at Harvard are encouraged to join us.  If all of this sounds too good to be true, then welcome to Beeritas!

Questions? Comments? Drinking invitations? Contact Beeritas Co-Presidents Ali Szemanski (aszemanski@jd19.law.harvard.edu) and Kim Schroer (kschroer@jd19.law.harvard.edu).

Get to Know the 2018-2019 Beeritas Board:

Ali Szemanski and Kim Schroer, Beermasters-in-Chief  (aszemanski@jd19.law.harvard.edu and kschroer@jd19.law.harvard.edu)

Terrence George, Treasurer (tgeorge@jd20.law.harvard.edu)

Will Ryan and Ben Shiroma, Beermasters of Outreach (wryan@jd19.law.harvard.edu and bshiroma@jd19.law.harvard.edu)

Sam Sagartz, Professor of Beer (ssagartz@mba2020.hbs.edu)